Open Letter from a Home Fire Survivor

To Whom It May Concern:

What is the American Red Cross? This is a question that I didn’t know the answer, too, until tragedy struck my family. You have an idea, but do you really know?

On February 25, 2014 my home was totally destroyed by fire. We had nothing left except the clothing we were wearing. The fire happened at about 5:00 p.m. I was just getting off work when I got the news. It took me about 20 minutes to get home, but like I said there was nothing left. I’m not really sure how the Red Cross got involved but we were glad that they did!

They immediately sent out a representative to see what we needed. At the time there were 5 of us living in the residence. So the five of us need help. From the very moment that the Red Cross stepped in, they began to make things easier for us. We were provided with blankets, hygiene products, a credit card for clothing and food. We were also provided a place to stay for 3 or 4 days.

Through the entire ordeal the Red Cross representative kept in touch, always making sure that our basic needs were met. They provided us with needed information, by leading us to the right places and people to talk to.

Now I finally know what the American Red Cross is…to me it is the door that opens to families that get caught up in life’s unforeseen circumstances that they have no control over. They are the helping hand that reaches in and help to pull you up and out. The Red Cross makes you feel as near to normal as you can during crisis. Whether it’s counseling, food, shelter, clothing or friends. They stay with you until you can think clearly and provide you with what you need immediately.

The representative was caring and concerned with out every need. She went above and beyond to help make our transition smooth. Because of her care and concern, we were able to move forward without the fear of being alone. Thank God for our Red Cross Chapter. I could not have done it without your help.

As of May 8, 2014 we moved into a new residence. Through the generosity of neighbors and friends we have everything we need. So again, I thank the Red Cross for giving me the help that I needed to look beyond the tragedy and see the outcome.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

